COMMUTER BUS SERVICE BETWEEN MICHIGAN CITY, LA PORTE AND PURDUE NORTHWEST
How much does it cost to ride a Transit Triangle bus?
Full Fare : $1.00
Student Fare : $.50
ADA : $.50
Children age five and under: Free Senior (60 or older w/ID) : $.50
All monthly passes are unlimited ride on MC Transit and Transit Triangle
Transfer – Free, ( valid for 2 hour on MC Transit and Transit Triangle, 1- way travel only - No return trip) Transfer are not immediate.
What is the cost of a Monthly Commuter Pass?
All monthly passes are unlimited ride on Transit Triangle and MC Transit
Full Fare Montly Pass : $20.00
Student Monthly Pass : $10.00
ADA Monthly Pass: $10.00
Senior Montly Pass: $10.00
How do I buy a Monthly Commuter Pass?
The monthly Commuter pass and 10-Ride pass are also available for purchase in person at:
Can I pay my fare with cash on the bus?
Yes, you can pay the fare on the bus by placing the EXACT fare into the fare machine. Operators do not carry ANY currency or coin to make change.
Can I pay my fare on the bus with a credit or debit card?
No, the operator can accept only exact change.
Does Transit Triangle run on weekends?
No. Transit Triangle runs Monday through Friday, 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Does Transit Triangle run on holidays?
Transit Triangle does not run on the following holidays:
How do I know which bus I should take?
Schedule and maps can be obtained from the: Transit Department Office, Michigan City Public Library, Michigan City Controller’s Office at City Hall, Indiana State Office for Family and Children, La Porte County Visitors Center in the Marquette Mall, the La Porte TransPorte office (102 L Street, La Porte) and on all Transit Triangle buses and vehicles. Schedules and maps can also be viewed and downloaded by clicking here.
How do I request a new route or stop?
Michigan City Transit appreciates passenger feedback and suggestions to make our system better. If you have a route or stop suggestion, please call our office and we will be glad to talk with you about it. Or, click here to submit your comment online.
Is the bus running late?
Due to traffic issues beyond the operators’ control, the bus could be late. You can get “real-time” route updates with delays by calling the office at 219-873-1502. A notice will also be posted on the Transit Triangle web site home page. Please note, the operators driving buses cannot be contacted to determine arrival times.
Does the wheelchair lift work?
We are committed to the mobility of all and is fully compliant with the American’s with Disabilities Act of 1990. Should the operator find that the buses lift is not operational at the time of need, another vehicle will be immediately dispatched. For additional information on Transit Triangle ADA Services, click here.
Why don’t the buses run later each day or on weekends?
The department receives most of it operating funds from the Federal government. Funding is based on many factors which include population and annual ridership. The funds available to Transit Triangle limit us to the hours the system is currently operating.
Can you hold the bus?
No, our operators work very hard to maintain the published schedule to get our passengers where they need to get to on-time. Waiting is not practical.
When do the buses operate?
Transit Triangle runs Monday through Friday, 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
What if there is severe weather? How will I know if the buses are still running?
Call the office at 219-873-1502 to get “real-time” updates on bus routes/delays and severe weather. A notice will also be posted on the Transit Triangle web site home page.
Can I eat and drink on the bus?
Eating and drinking are not allowed. Sealed and wrapped food and beverages may be transported but not consumed.
What can I carry on the bus?
We ask that you please limit your personal property to what can be carried on in one boarding. All personal property must remain in your lap or under your seat. Passengers’ personal property is never allowed in a seat.
What happens if I leave something on the bus?
Transit Triangle is not responsible for any lost items. However, our operators conduct regular sweeps of the bus. Items found are immediately reported and turned in to the lost and found. The lost item can then be claimed the next business day at 1801 Kentucky St. in Michigan City. Unclaimed items are destroyed after 30 days.
Can I bring a gun or knife on the bus?
No weapons of any kind are allowed on the bus.
Alternate Format is Available Upon Request